If you were a superhero,what would your superpower be?

My name is Sarah, I am a project worker at CHANGE. My co workers are Ben and Sarah. Together we are working on the Quality Checking project for NHS England and a national consultation for the Care Quality Commission. This is my first blog!

At CHANGE we co deliver training across the UK and internationally with professional trainers with learning disabilities. We make sure that the workshops we co deliver are inclusive, interactive and fun places to discuss issues, try out new ideas and learn new ways of doing things.

At a recent training day,  we started the day off by asking the question:

“If you were a superhero what would your superpower be?”

When we asked the non learning disabled participants this question they said:

The ability to fly,  To have a super speed,  to be able to mind read, being invisible, the ability to time travel

My superpower would be: the ability to stop time. I always seem to be running late to one thing or another and the ability to stop time would help me immensely!!

What would your superpower be?

So what did people with learning disabilities say?

What really surprised and interested me about this question was how different the answers between non-disabled people and people with learning disabilities were.

Non-disabled people said that all the things that you might expect like I said, stopping time, being able to fly, being invisible, time travel and enhanced senses

People with learning disabilities on the other hand, said that they  wanted their superpowers

To be able to stop hate crime, to make the world a fairer place, to make things better for all people with learning disabilities, and to create true equality.

Each person with a learning disability we asked, thought of the world and the bigger picture. They thought of other people besides themselves and they thought of equality for all. They gave altruistic answers that would mean global improvements for the world to be a better place for everyone including people with learning disablities to live in

I am curious to know why more people with learning disabilities aren’t in positions of power and influence so they can teach us all different ways of thinking. It was a humbling and a learning experience for me which led me to ask myself again….

If I were a superhero what would my superpower be?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

